top of page

Dr. Seuss Books in Order: Timeless Literary Legacy

Updated: Apr 11

Dr. Seuss, whose real name was Theodor Seuss Geisel, remains one of the most cherished and iconic children's book authors of all time. Dr. Seuss created a world that has captivated generations of young readers with his inventive use of language, unforgettable characters, and whimsical illustrations.

In this article, we'll explore the literary journey of Dr. Seuss, from his early beginnings to his lasting legacy, and provide a comprehensive list of his books in order of publication.

The Early Beginnings: Imaginative Tales That Captured Hearts

Dr. Seuss's debut into the world of children's literature began with a humorous book titled The Pocket Book of Boners (1931). However, it was And To Think That I Saw It On Mulberry Street (1937) that truly marked the beginning of his illustrious career. This book introduced readers to the imaginative and playful storytelling style that would become Dr. Seuss's trademark.

Dr. Seuss's early works delighted readers with their creativity and charm, from tales of fantastical hats to characters defying gravity on stilts.

A Legacy of Classics: Stories That Transcend Time

Dr. Seuss's golden era brought forth a collection of books that remain beloved classics to this day. With a penchant for rhyme and a flair for the absurd, Dr. Seuss created stories that resonate with readers of all ages.

  • The Cat in the Hat (1957): An iconic character who brings mischief and mayhem to a rainy day.

  • Green Eggs and Ham (1960): A playful exploration of trying new things, even when they seem unappetizing.

These stories and many others exemplify Dr. Seuss's ability to convey meaningful messages through lighthearted and whimsical storytelling.

Continuing the Whimsy: Later Works and Fond Farewells

In the later years of his career, Dr. Seuss continued to publish stories that captured the imaginations of readers around the world. From advocating for the environment in The Lorax (1971) to inspiring life's journeys in Oh, the Places You'll Go! (1990), Dr. Seuss's work remained as relevant and impactful as ever.

Posthumously published books, such as Daisy-Head Mayzie (1995) and Horton and the Kwuggerbug and More Lost Stories (2014), also added to his rich legacy, allowing new generations to discover the magic of Dr. Seuss's storytelling.

The Complete Collection: Dr. Seuss Books in Order

To fully appreciate the evolution of Dr. Seuss's literary genius, here is a comprehensive list of his books in order of publication:

  1. The Pocket Book of Boners (1931)

  2. And To Think That I Saw It On Mulberry Street (1937)

  3. The 500 Hats Of Bartholomew Cubbins (1938)

  4. The King’s Stilts​ (1939)

  5. The Seven Lady Godivas (1939)

  6. Horton Hatches the Egg​ (1940)

  7. McElligot’s Pool​ (1947)

  8. Thidwick The Big-Hearted Moose (1948)

  9. Bartholomew and The Oobleck (1949)

  10. If I Ran the Zoo (1950)

  11. Gerald McBoing Boing (1952)

  12. Scrambled Eggs Super! (1953)

  13. Horton Hears A Who! (1954)

  14. On Beyond Zebra (1955)

  15. If I Ran The Circus (1956)

  16. The Cat in the Hat (1957)

  17. How The Grinch Stole Christmas (1957)

  18. Yertle The Turtle And Other Stories (1958)

  19. The Cat In The Hat Comes Back! (1958)

  20. Happy Birthday To You! (1959)

  21. Green Eggs And Ham (1960)

  22. One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish (1960)

  23. The Sneetches and Other Stories (1961)